Stranger Things

OK so this is not gaming news but I felt I had to shout all about Stranger Things a Netflix original. A colleague of mine told me about the series and as soon as I heard it was set in the 80’s I knew I had to watch it. Today was one of the rare occasions when I have a Netflix binge, so I ended up watching the entire series. The series follows Mike, Dustin Lucas and Will, four young boys living in Indiana in 1983. I will not go into too much detail as I would not want to ruin it for you.

Sadly I was born in the 90’s; I would have loved to have been around in the 80’s. I love everything about the era and Stranger Things was definitely all 80’s. As I was watching the series it became apparent that parts of it where like classic 80’s films such as Stand by me, E.T, Aliens, Tron and so many more. It was great how the episodes reflected these films. It was certainty a homage to the 80’s.

So I mentioned Tron, obviously they were not riding on light cycles. I cannot say which part of the series was like Tron as it would be a massive spoiler. They music made me think of Tron; in parts the techno beats were filing my head. It was glorious and brought a smile to my face.

I did find that towards the middle of the series it lulled a little but quickly picked up and had me sitting on the edge of my seat.

I cannot wait for series two, I am sure it will be a roller-coaster ride like the first. I would recommend that you give it a watch.

Leave a Reply

